Three things I’m loving this week

jewish mom

1. Crazy Jewish Mom. If this doesn’t make you truly appreciate your own mother (who, I will assume is not as insane and overbearing as Crazy Jewish Mom), I really don’t know what will.  I will say this, it makes me feel better about my own parenting skills because I will never be as bat-shit crazy as this lady.

For what it’s worth, Crazy Jewish Mom knows all about her daughter posting her text and she’s more than OK with it:

“She LOVES it. She thinks it’s all fantastic advice, stands by every word, and is happy that others are benefiting from her wisdom.”


2. Dear Kitten. These hilarious Friskies commercials in which a wise old cat imparts wisdom to the new kitten on the block. They have two new ones for the SuperBowl— The Big Game & Disappearing Humans.  I like them better than Budweiser’s silly, sappy puppy-and-Clydsedale SuperBowl commercials.

recipe to blog

3. Panko. The girls and I made panko-encrusted oven-fried drumsticks for dinner this week and, believe it or not, every person in the house liked it. Woot! Panko is kinda crunchy, making it a better coating than regular breadcrumbs. Panko are actually breadcrumbs (made without crusts) that are electrocuted. Yep, you read that right: Watch.

Things I’m not loving this week

1. Tough Mudder. You pay at least $75 for a Tough Mudder race….usually much more…like $100-$150 and you no longer get a free T-shirt. You get a headband and a cheap glass of beer. That’s it.

The TM PR folks are trying hard to spin it. They say it’s because they want to spend all their resources on giving you the biggest, baddest, kick-assiest obstacles on earth, but….I’m not stupid. TM made over $100 MILLION last year.  It’s greed.

“Today, Dean presides over a company that landed at No. 65 on the 2014 Inc. 500 list. Tough Mudder, based in Brooklyn, New York, brought in $107.9 million last year and has grown 4,737.5 percent since 2010. About 1.5 million people have participated in Tough Mudder events. More impressive, the company has been profitable every year since its inception. So much for ‘Rich versus King.'” — Inc. 5000

2.  Dry skin. Inevitable in winter, but highly annoying, and sometimes quite painful.

3. Post-run winter lobster claws. I used to think there was nothing harder than trying to open a door (operate a key) or take off a sports bra after a particularly cold morning run when I was left with cold claws for hands, but…then last week I rushed in after a morning run and tried to put Kelly’s hair into a ponytail. Impossible with frozen lobster claws for hands.  (Don’t even get me started on what happens when super-cold hands and body meet a hot shower).