Things I’m loving this week

This song. I usually buy the Grammy Nominees CD each year (yeah…I’m that dork that still occasionally buys actual CDs) and Demi Lovato’s “Confident” is one of the songs on this year’s CD that the girls and I have been enjoying singing at the top of our lungs in the car.  My fav line: “I used to hold my freak back, now I’m letting it go.” My second fav part: “I make my own choice; yeah, I run this show….No, you can’t make me behave.”  Speaks to a lot of where I’m at right now…and where I hope my daughters get to long before the 40+ years it took me.

canstockphoto39471528

Kelly’s Creative Writing class. She’s doing the coolest stuff in this class and I’m so jeallllllousss…. Where were these cool electives when I was in school and had the choice of home ec. or wood shop?

Image result for adult swimming

Private swim lessons. The local Y offers private swim lessons and I decided to sign up for a 5-session stint in hopes of figuring out the bi-lateral breathing thing in time for the Bay Swim in June.  My coach, Don, has really tailored his lessons to prepare me for an open-water swim, having me work not just on bi-lateral breathing (breathing on both right and left side), but also on the Tarzan stroke to help with “sighting” (looking up to make sure you’re going in the right way), the breast stroke to be used as a rest stroke, and switching between all these strokes without using the wall (no walls in Lake Erie).  Best $60 I’ve spent in a long time.

Things I’m not loving this week

Missing lens cap. If I had the money I’ve spent on buying replacement lens caps, I could probably get the Canon SX60 I really want. I don’t know if I’ve banged my SX50 into walls too many times and messed up the lens opening or what, but I cannot find a replacement cap that fits now. The standard 52 mm cap …even when I spring for the “Canon” brand name… pops right off.  I sent another one back today.  At this rate, it won’t be long before my lens is scratched/ruined and I’ll HAVE to buy that SX60 anyway, right?

People who buy overpriced clothes. It’s pretty clear the rest of the world lives very differently than me. A blogger I read occasionally posted about how much she loves her new running tights, so I click on the link — $118 for capris. I’m sure they are lovely and feel like buttah, but…I get my running capris at Walmart for like $13.50. If I am splurging, I’ll go to Target and pay $35.  I wouldn’t even pay $118 for work clothes.

Blogging. Clearly, right? I don’t know…I just haven’t been into it lately. I feel this need to just…keep my circle tight right now. What have I been doing with my evenings? Mostly running kids around and reading.  It’s enough for now.