Things I’m loving this week

img_9046

The Her Times 5K. I could write volumes about this event, but suffice to say that I’ll go to my grave one day knowing that I  have made a difference in this world through this race that I started 11 years ago (!). I couldn’t do it without all my awesome friends and family who volunteer to help me pull it off. What we do at that race really matters…it changes lives. Whatever sucks about this life and world…we’ve got that, my friends.

T-fal Ingenio Classic 60-Minute Mechanical Timer, Black

T-fal Ingenio Timer. This little $12 timer is 99% responsible for Lauren actually making it to the bus every morning (books, shoes, hairbrush, etc. in hand, but…whatever…) this year. It not only ticks loudly, but the red background gives her an at-a-glance measure of how much time she has left. It also has a big magnet on the back, so you can stick it on the stove (or fridge) every night. Perfect for kids who are easily distracted!

How I Built This logo

NPR’s How I Built This. I found a new Podcast that I love: NPR’s How I Build This. “It is a podcast about innovators, entrepreneurs, and idealists, and the stories behind the movements they built. Each episode is a narrative journey marked by triumphs, failures, serendipity and insight — told by the founders of some of the world’s best known companies and brands.” Also …it’s hosted by Guy Raz, one of my favorite voices on NPR.

I got a lot of ladies behind me….literally and figuratively

My network of girlfriends. My God, I don’t know what I’d do without the myriad of women in my life. You ladies hold up my world and are always there for me…whether it’s to motivate (cajole…guilt) me into running 5 miles of hills or at in the rain at 5 a.m., working for hours at race registration/finish line, meet me for dinner just so I can gather advice on how to handle a teenage daughter with a boyfriend, answer my 10:30 p.m. inquires about menopause, listen to me b#$%, or slip my kid $20 and cheer her at a XC meet I couldn’t attend. I am so lucky to have found all of you (mostly through running, which is funny, right?). I’m so grateful for every one of you.

Things I’m not loving this week

Addict shaming on the ‘net. This is a trend that needs to stop. Drug addicts need our help, not our disdain. Not only does public shaming not work, but it probably just makes things worse because shame is at the CORE of addiction, so piling on doesn’t help matters.  Also, we need to stop “treating” drug addiction by locking up people who need help. They are the victims in this “war on drugs” — which is one we are clearly losing anyway, so….

Iceburg lettuce. I had bought some iceburg lettuce for tacos and it needed used up, so I mixed it in with Romaine in my salad and….I cannot stand it. Why do they even grow this shit anymore?

Halloween. But, then, you know I hate most “holidays” because…it’s just a bunch of work, hassle, expense….to try and impress others and/or to “have fun.” We all create a lot of work for ourselves, don’t we?