Things I’m loving

IMG_6843

Buffalo. Each year, the girls, my mom and I go on a little three- to four-day mini-vacation to a nearby city. We went to Buffalo this year and had a great time. There was plenty to do in the area and Canalside was impressive and fun (Erie could sooooo have a Canalside if only we had some visionary leaders…sigh).  We visited the zoo, took a two-hour, narrated historical tour on Lake Erie, watched a free Shakespeare performance in a park, and stayed in the nicest room we’ve ever had (Embassy Suites) for less than we’ve paid in any other big city (like $140 a night).

P1010576

Erie-area bald eagles. In the last few months, I’ve had close encounters with bald eagles at Presque Isle, Eaton Reservoir, Findley Lake, and, most recently, at Lake Pleasant. I remember less than 10 years ago, when we drove to Union City to try and see an eagle that was reported to be living near the dam. Now, they can be seen near most large bodies of water in the area.

Eleanor & Park.  I like a lot of YA novels and this is one both of my girls devoured pretty quickly and proceeded to re-read, so I thought I’d see what all the fuss was about. I loved it, and was struck by how it took me back to those days of first love and how every glance was meaningful, every hand brush electric, and every moment away from your crush was unbearable. I’d forgotten all that and this book was a sweet reminder.

Things I’m not loving

Humid heat. Heat & humidity makes me homicidal. This is why you will never find me living in the south…until I retire and maybe go south for a few  months to avoid the ugly season in Erie (January-April).