Three things I’m loving this week

Amazon Prime. Monday night Dan & I decided to just bite the bullet and buy two more kayaks so the whole family can hit the river together this weekend. While you can pick up starter kayaks at a decent price at about five different stores in town (um…drive down to Meadville and check out Dunham’s!), you won’t have as much luck finding a good selection (or decent prices) on paddles and/or life jackets. Enter Amazon Prime. On my lunch hour, I ordered paddles, life jackets, and paddle leashes. It will all arrive on my doorstep in two days. God Bless, America.

IMG_6429

Cousin sleepovers. I desperately wanted cousins my age when I was younger and deeply envied my friends who had tons of them when I was stuck between two brothers. Fortunately, my girls are blessed with a bunch of cousins on both sides of the family. This weekend, we had cousins from one side of the family sleepover and ate tons of junk food, caught lots of salamanders and frogs in the creek, swam all hours of the day or night, slept in a tent (the kids, not me), and made a lifetime of memories.

SCOTUS. If there is one bright spot this week in the mess that is our country (and our world, for that matter)…it’s good news coming from the highest court in our country who is not even going to put up with Texas’ B.S. about how limiting access to abortions is somehow “protecting women’s health” (um…leading them to unsafe, unsanitary back-alley abortions is more like it). RGB put it best, of course:

“It is beyond rational belief that H. B. 2 could genuinely protect the health of women, and certain that the law ‘would simply make it more difficult for them to obtain abortions,’” she wrote. “Laws like H. B. 2 that ‘do little or nothing for health, but rather strew impediments to abortion,’ … cannot survive judicial inspection.”

And then…we got this, too. It would seem this is common sense (those with violent tendencies probably shouldn’t have lethal weapons) and wouldn’t need to be decided by the Supreme Court, but…common sense doesn’t seem to be a thing in the U.S. anymore. It’s all anger, anger, anger.

Long live, RGB. I’m totally adding this shirt to my wish list.

Three things I’m not loving this week

$7 million witch hunt. What did they really think they were going to find? What a monumental waste of taxpayer dollars. That’s OUR money they threw away on their little witch hunt.

IMG_6442

Glasses. I’ve never needed eye correction, and I’m still not sure I do, but…I got them for working on the computer and reading, etc. They are bifocals and I kinda hate how things around the edges (bottom) are fuzzy when viewed from a distance. I feel stoned.

Launch permits for kayaks. These are clearly a blatant money grab by the Fish and Boat Commission, but…what are you going to do? Pay $10 a year or risk getting hit with a big fine for refusing to give the bully your lunch money? *writes check*