A random collections of blog posts, articles and other things I think are worth sharing.

Scary Mommy: 12 Things You Need to Know About Your New Teenager (Solid advice here.)

“Repeat after me: This conversation is over. Learn it, live it, love it. And plan to use it over and over and over again.”

Outside magazine: Man versus Food (interesting…but not surprising as I learned long ago that you can’t out-exercise a bad diet. Doesn’t stop me from eating guac and chips for dinner on run days, but….I do know better).

Salon: I Bought Nothing New for 200 Days

“My dad invested countless hours, loads of money and energy into acquiring, transporting, moving and maintaining these possessions. Now, after his death, we were struggling to make away with it all. As the move-out day came closer, we even started panicking. How could we ever find a way to dispose of all of this stuff?”

Huffington Post Parents: Generation X’s Parenting Problem  (A direct hit. I think we’re all totally overparenting today.)

“… the singular act of raising a child hasn’t changed all that much over the years. It’s still so damn hard. And like the generations of parents that came before us, we’re all making it up as we go along.”