A random collections of blog posts, articles and other things I think are worth sharing.

Outside Magazine: 10 Ways to Raise Brave Girls

“No one questions a mother’s courage to protect her kids, but it’s so odd that we don’t attribute bravery to women otherwise. At a young age, if girls learn to value bravery like boys do, they’re going to be so good at it.” Paul suggests encouraging your girl to practice five acts of “microbravery” each week, like picking up that icky spider on the kitchen counter. And when your daughter does something gutsy, name that too. Repeat after me: “that was brave!”

HuffPostParents: I’m Done Making My Kid’s Childhood Magical (I confess to having fallen into this trap of being “the entertainer” too often. I remember being bored a lot as a kid…and I don’t think that was a bad thing.)

Family: The Day My Partner Drowned (Wow…incredible story and really well written)

The Atlantic: U.S. Women’s Soccer: Better Than Men’s in Every Way But Pay (This pisses me off. Go get ’em, ladies!)

Upworthy: A Girl Was Asked About BMI in Class, She Took Her Teacher to School (*smile* I love this girl. This is exactly what we need to do to stand up to all forms of subtle…and not-so-subtle body shaming.)