I took Monday off because it was Columbus Day and even though it’s been established that our man Columbus was a dolt and “found” a “new world” that wasn’t even the one he was looking for and was, in fact, already inhabited, the forlorn explorer’s journey offers today’s Americans a convenient excuse to take the day off and go shop the Columbus Day sales (‘merica! Consume… consume…consume!).

I used to have Columbus Day off when I worked at the newspaper and every year since I left there, I would get jealous when all my old coworkers would post photos of their bonus day off adventures while I sat at work, enjoying a gorgeous autumn day from behind glass.

So this year, I decided to take the day off, too. Though…my “days off” might kill the average person. My Columbus Day started with an early morning workout and 4-mile run, then ran Lauren to a doctor’s appointment, did a little housework and laundry, wrote a few blog posts, decorated for Halloween, and went hiking.

Meanwhile….back at the ranch:

sleepy 2 sleepy

Something tells me this is what every day is like for this crew.

That “something” may or may not be pet hair on every soft surface in my house.

*sigh*

Speaking of the secret lives of pets…have you seen this trailer? We can’t wait for the movie, which is supposed to be released in June.