Three things I’m loving this week

into the wild

1. Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer. I read Krakauer’s original article about Chris McCandless in Outside Magazine and wanted to know more. Apparently, Krakauer did, too, as he spent a year or more digging deeper into the story and into Chris McCandless’ life. His work resulted in Into the Wild, one of the more intriguing books I’ve read. When it popped up as one of the bargains on Kindle National Daily, I scooped it up for a few dollars.

I expected to get bored with it, but…Krakauer is a masterful storyteller and Chris was a complicated young man who was a walking contradiction. I found myself relating to him more than I ever could’ve imagined (including the whole walking contradiction thing).

If you’re unfamiliar with the story…here’s the synopsis:

In April 1992 a young man from a well-to-do family hitchhiked to Alaska and walked alone into the wilderness north of Mt. McKinley. His name was Christopher Johnson McCandless. He had given $25,000 in savings to charity, abandoned his car and most of his possessions, burned all the cash in his wallet, and invented a new life for himself. Four months later, his decomposed body was found by a moose hunter.  How McCandless came to die is the unforgettable story of Into the Wild.

There’s a movie, too, I guess. But, I’m sure it sucks. Read the book…it’s always better.

u pick six

2. Harbor House is opening! Oh….how we eastsiders have been waiting for this third location of the U Pick 6 franchise. The west side always gets everything, but seems they’ve figured out we have some money over here in these here parts, too. Dan & I plan to reward the proprietors handsomely, especially if they offer the same 1/2 price Happy Hour drafts, pizza & flat breads that they have at the State Street location. I see a date night in the very near future. Also, office lunches!!! (And I wonder why I’ve gained 10 pounds…. sigh)

boots

3. Boots are back. I have a hard time giving up summer sandals because I hate socks. I hate wearing them. I hate washing them. I hate matching them. So, in our house, we wear sandals as long as possible. After freezing my toes off the first three days of this week, I decided it was time to admit defeat and I busted out the boots, which are totally worth dealing with socks for. They look good, they’re comfy, and they keep me warm.

Also back in my (nearly daily) wardrobe is my beloved jean jacket. Too casual for work? Do. Not. Care.

jean jacket

Things I’m not loving this week

1. Performance evaluations. The bane of my working-stiff existence. I could say much more, but that wouldn’t be wise, now would it?

2. The holiday shopping season. I’ve come to hate Christmas because it’s just a gigantic consumer holiday. Can we just not spend thousands of dollars proving to those we love that we love them with overpriced and unwanted gifts and trinkets. Can we just not?  How can I get out of this? I want to opt out.

3. Losing money on the HT5K race. I’m mortified that I actually lost money on the Her Times 5K this year. My bad…I ordered too many shirts. That said, I didn’t do anything different than I normally do (ordering 100+ extra shirts). I just didn’t get the last minute & day-of-race registrations I normally get. So, I’m stuck with more than 100 shirts, which are sitting in my garage along with all the bags that I’ve got to find a place to store for a year.  *sigh*