kale chips

A friend gave me a whole bag of fresh kale from her garden and I quickly turned it into kale chips, which Lauren quickly devoured.

I’m probably the only parent on earth yelling at her kid for eating all the vegetables and not saving any for anyone else.

After posting the photo above on Facebook, a few friends told me they wanted the recipe since they’d been unsuccessful in making kale chips, so….at my readers’ request, here’s how I make kale chips (hint: oven temp is key).

Kale Chips

Ingredients:

  • Kale leaves, torn into bite size pieces (stems/rib discarded)
  • Olive oil
  • Salt (I use sea salt)

Instructions:

  1. Heat oven to 225. A low temp is key. Higher temps will just burn the leaves, not crisp them.
  2. Line a baking sheet with foil.
  3. Tear kale into bite-size pieces and put them into a ziploc bag (or a produce bag….any bag will work). Drizzle with some olive oil (I’m guessing a tablespoon or two…you want the chips coated, but not soaking in it). Close the bag and use your fingers to knead/roll the contents of the bag around to spread the oil to all the chips.
  4. Pour the contents of the bag onto the baking sheet in a single layer (or close to it) and sprinkle generously with salt. (You may need two sheets for one bunch of Kale).
  5. Bake for 20 to 30 minutes…checking halfway through to turn the sheets around and/or be sure they’re not cooking too quickly.  You’ll know they are done when they are crispy to the touch.

Tips:

  • You can experiment with flavors. Some people try lemon-pepper seasoning, etc. You can probably find some ideas online for different flavor combos.
  • Kale chips don’t store well. I’ve found that I can keep them for a few days if I put them in an open bowl on the counter. Don’t put them in an airtight container…they turn soft/soggy.