Where have I been lately? Well…let’s see:

IMG_7448

In the pool….

IMG_7139

In the ‘burgh with mom & the girls…

IMG_7489

racing…

Eriez Speedway

at Eriez speedway…

sailing - crew

learning to sail….

scallywags

riding on a pirate ship with all my inlaws (and our hand-drawn anchor tatts)…IMG_8474

trekking through Fourmile creek…

 

11180629_10207056318903759_5330571261479517322_n

meeting the newest member of the family (Kinzlee)….

DSCF1694

Getting some color….

IMG_8554

celebrating three special Cass anniversaries…

DSCF1784

riding the rapids at Cedar Point…

 

DSCF2013

swinging in the trees at the Peek…

IMG_8750

canoeing down the Allegheny River…IMG_9221

and…just relaxing in the river….

Here’s where I have not been (a short list):

  • School shopping/the mall
  • At the YMCA or any indoor exercise class
  • In front of the TV
  • In my home office (for anything other than must-finish freelance work)
  • WordPress

I feel guilty sad bummed disappointed conflicted about not finding time to blog.

It’s not that I think you’re all waiting with bated breath for my next post.  (Oh, what wisdom will Heather bless us with today!?), but that an un-examined life is not worth living.

Well, that’s what Socrates said anyway. But, let’s be honest — he was being a bit of a drama queen with the whole “not worth living” part. I mean, I’m not going to go jump off a cliff because I don’t have time to think right now (I would, however, probably do it if all my friends did. It’s been established that I’m a sucker for peer pressure...and adventure.)

But I do regret not having time to reflect, make connections, and write the words that help me make sense of life and, more importantly, appreciate it.

When I finally get some free/down time, it’s usually 9:30 or 10 p.m. and, I just want to chill out with my Kindle or my guilty pleasure — Us Weekly magazine (don’t judge me). Writing anything intelligent/witty/insightful at that time of night is nearly impossible for me. There’s a reason most writers are early birds. We are better at the crack of dawn than the edge of night.

But the crack of dawn usually finds me running, or lifting weights, or scooping cat litter and folding laundry between sets of pushups or overhead presses.

Life is full right now. Sometimes I resent the endless–and exhausting–work and obligations that come with a home, family, friends, and a full-time job. I fantasize about selling everything and moving to a tiny house that takes 10 minutes to clean…or Mexico where Dan and I could lead kayak expeditions for tourists…or to some cottage on a river. Then, surely, I’d have no trouble finding time to examine my life, right?

But, then, what would I have to examine, right?


____________________________

About Just Write “What ends up revealing itself when free writing is that everything has meaning. That is a magnificent gift of writing. If we write from a free heart-gut place, our souls start speaking.”