A random collections of blog posts, articles and other things I think are worth sharing.

KQED News: What Do Students Lose By Being Perfect? Valuable Failure

We taught her that her potential is tied to her intellect, and her intellect is more important than her character. We taught her to protect her academic and extracurricular perfection at all costs and that it’s better to quit when things get challenging rather than risk marring that perfection.

Above all else, we have taught her to fear failure, and that fear has destroyed her love of learning.”

Marc and Angel Hack Life: 18 Reminders You Need When Things Don’t Go Your Way

One Crafty Mother: Fail Better – On Divorce and Creating My Own Orbit

“My life doesn’t look anything like I imagined it would, but I have learned that the disconnect there isn’t in life itself, but in the imagining, in the expectations of how things are supposed to be. I no longer believe in supposed-to.

Zen Habits: Advice for People in Their Early 20s (cause I’m sure soooo many of them are reading my blog, right? You can pass it along to all the 20somethings in your life.)

The New York Times’ Room for Debate: Don’t Limit Your Teen’s Screen Time (some interesting food for thought here…and something I’ve been wondering about with my own girls. Lauren loves Minecraft, I sent her to tech camps this summer based around the program. She plays on it with her sister and the neighbor girl down the street. After taking some tech/programming camps this summer, she says she wants to be a programmer. And, I think, well then why am I denying her access to this technology? I don’t know what the answer is because I also want her to climb trees and hunt for fossils, but it’s probably somewhere in the middle between nature and nurture.