A random collections of blog posts, articles and other things I think are worth sharing.

Erie Times-News – Craig Latimer: A Walk Across a Frozen Lake (Why am I not surprised that “Quad” father Craig Latimer did this on a whim? I find him to be a fascinating guy. He’ll deny that, which makes him all the more intriguing. Also, he gave me my beautiful long-haired calico, Bella.)

Salon: Why Religion Unleashes Humanities Most Violent Impulses

“With the possible exception of Buddhism, the world’s most powerful religions give wildly contradictory messages about violence.  The Christian Bible is full of exhortations to kindness, compassion, humility, mercy and justice.  It is also full of exhortations to stoning, burning, slavery, torture, and slaughter.  If the Bible were law, most people you know would qualify for the death penalty.”

Elite Daily: 8 Ways Being the Middle Child Made You A Better Person (Yes…to every single one of these….yes!)

The Guardian: World’s first all-female patrol protecting South Africa’s rhinos

“The Black Mambas are all young women from local communities, and they patrol inside the Greater Kruger national park unarmed. Billed as the first all-female unit of its kind in the world, they are not just challenging poachers, but the status quo.”

Time: 15 Life-Changing Books You Can Read in a Day (Dammit…like my “to-read” list on Amazon wasn’t long enough already. Some good ones here….makes me feel like I’m back in Fiction 100 again.)