I got off the clean-eating/paleo wagon when I trained for a couple of marathons last year. Despite all the running, it didn’t take long for me to pack back on the 10 lbs I’d lost.

I’ve been working to get back to where I was pre-marathon and my new Practical Paleo cookbook has been a source of inspiration. I’ve cooked three or four recipes from the book so far (no, really, I did!) and they have all been fabulous. Even Dan and the kids liked a two of the chicken dishes I made.

I’ve pledged to try at least two new recipes from the book each week. Last night, I made this Summer Squash Caprese Salad and it was surprisingly delish!

I used a zucchini that I cut into “noodles”with my Paderno slicer, but I have to say I find the contraption to be kind of a pain and I wish I’d just bought a julienne peeler.

Also, I  used less oil than the recipe called for. I probably used two tablespoons, at most.

Summer Squash Caprese Salad

IMG_0714

  • 2.5 cups zucchini/ yellow squash (julienned)
  • 1/2 cup cherry tomatoes (quartered)
  • 1/8 cup basil (thinly sliced)
  • 1 clove garlic (grated or finely chopped)
  • 1/8 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • sea salt

Chop the ends of the squash and peel off the outer skin. With a julienne vegetable peeler, peel the squash into thin fettuccine “noodles.” You can also you a standard vegetable/potato peeler and get a similar effect.

Combine cherry tomatoes, basil, garlic, olive oil, lemon juice, sea salt, and pepper into medium mixing bowl.

Toss the peeled squash noodles with the tomato, basil, oil mixture in your other bowl. Mix well and serve chilled as a great summer side dish.

* If you prefer a hot dish, steam the zoodles for two minutes before adding to the tomato/oil mixture.