Three things I’m loving this week

honeycrips

1.  Honeycrisp apples. At nearly a $1 a piece, they are a pricey piece of fruit, but they are the tastiest apples in the produce section.

DSCF0789

2. Kayak lessons. Lauren wanted a kayak after trying one at Discover Presque Isle for all of 10 minutes. I’ve wanted a kayak since before Lauren was born. It seems a shame to live so close to a lake and NOT have some kind of boat, but I didn’t really know anything about it or what kind of a kayak to buy. So, when I saw that the canoe & boat livery at Presque Isle was offering kayaking lessons, I scheduled Lauren and I for a 3-hour tour (lesson).  The instructor – Kathleen Ryan  (403-1393) was really great. She went over safety, gear, what kind of kayak to buy and more before we hit the water and learned how to get in, paddle and do three kinds of turns. If you’ve ever wanted to try kayaking, definitely sign up for this class. Call Kathleen at 403-1393 ($50 for a 3-hour lesson that includes kayak rental).

marcus

3. Marcus Buckingham’s Career Intervention. I don’t hate my job (see Career Intervention description below), but this is still an awesome series worth listening to (or watching) because there’s a lot of food for thought.

“Are you stuck in a job you hate? Feel like you just don’t have enough to give to your professional life and your personal life? You’re not alone. Career coach Marcus Buckingham met with a group of women just like you to help them figure out how to reignite the passion in their careers. Now it’s your turn! TakAKe Marcus’s step-by-step workshop and use his lessons to change your life.”

doggie

4. Cavalier King Charles Spaniels. For some reason I really, really, really want one of these adorable puppies. But the closest AKC breeder is nearly 100 miles away…and how can I justify buying a dog when so many need a home?

Three things I’m not loving this week

1. Goal setting. Biggest waste of time ever.

giver

2. “The Giver.” I finished the book two weeks ago & saw the movie last Friday and I really enjoyed both. While the movie was slightly different from the book, it was still interesting and well done. If you held a gun to my head and made me choose which one was better, well..it would be the book — it always is, right?