Things I’m loving this week

1. “Happy” by Pharrell Williams. It might seem crazy what I’m ’bout to say…but this catchy tune from “Despicable Me 2” is a welcome earworm.

oranges

2. Oranges. I don’t know where the cheap oranges are coming from this time of year, but I’m happy they’ve made their way to the stores I shop in.  They are a welcome winter treat when all the berries and fresh fruits and seasonal veggies are gone.

DSC_4836

3. How a sugar- and caffeine-free life makes me feel. I’m five weeks into my detox and I can tell you now that I don’t want to go back to my old ways. I just realized recently how much better I feel and how improved my mood is without this stuff in my system. I overate at a Superbowl party and was sluggish, crabby, and sick to my stomach for a good 12 hours. Looking back, I realize that was probably my problem over the holiday’s, too, when I was indulging in sugar, alcohol, and copious amounts of caffeine.

It sounds stupid to say this, but I had no idea that what I ate had that kind of monumental effect on my mood, state of mind, and energy level.

Want to join me in happy land and rid your body of the most insidious, addictive substance in (nearly all of) our food?  Here are three steps to cut sweets (mostly) out of your life and you can feel as good as I do.

Sugar sucks.

Things I’m not loving this week

index

1. The loss of another great actor. People can get all judge-y about Philip Seymour Hoffman and the way he died, but unless they’ve struggled with addiction themselves, they should probably shut it. Hoffman’s death reminded me of Russel Brand’s “My Life Without Drugs”  post that painted a sad, but perfectly accurate picture of addiction:

“Drugs and alcohol are not my problem, reality is my problem, drugs and alcohol are my solution. If this seems odd to you it is because you are not an alcoholic or a drug addict. You are likely one of the 90% of people who can drink and use drugs safely.”

2. Woody Allen.  If only they’d find that creepy little son-of-b#$@ with a needle sticking out of his arm.  (I’m not even posting his picture.)

grammarpolice

3. Misuse of the word “myriad.” Myriad is an adjective, people, not a noun. If you use the phrase “a myriad of choices,” you’re wrong (widely accepted today, but still wrong). It’s “myriad choices.”