Three things I’m loving this week

 

sing

1. Kelly on Suess. Kelly was cast in the ensemble for the high school’s production of Suessical. I think she was initially disappointed to not get a speaking part, but she’s only in 6th grade and lots of kids tried out, so the fact that she landed a part at all a pretty big deal. She is both a “Who” and a “Cadet” in the show and she is absolutely loving the whole experience. They practice most evenings until 8 p.m. and Saturdays from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m., which makes for some long days, but she comes home singing and happy and…it’s just pretty awesome.

IMG_20140119_150720
2. Lazy Sunday afternoons. The planets aligned Sunday and I found myself with hours of uninterrupted peace to sit on the couch, watch football, write, and read. Weird, but totally welcome.

cathe

3. Cathe’s Muscle Max DVD. Cathe Friedrich is a bada@#. I loved (well, it’s more like a love-hate thing) her Slow & Heavy DVD so I asked for Muscle Max DVD for Christmas. It’s long (nearly an hour…which is quite long for a weight training session), but the menu offers you the ability to mix the exercises to target a specific area (upper body, etc.) in workouts that amount to 25 or 30 minutes.

I have several weight lifting DVDs so I can mix things up regularly. One thing you don’t want to do is continue doing the same exercises/same weights repeatedly or you’ll not see any improvement.

DSCF0550

4. The ERC Shelter at Beach No. 1. This is going to be such an asset to the park and the community and it was all made possible by the Erie Runners Club and the people who do their races. The pavilion is open, but the kitchen portion is enclosed and has roll-up serving windows. Both sides (pavilion & inside the kitchen) feature a beautiful stone fireplace. Slated to open this spring!

Three things I’m not loving this week

1. Preparing to be kitchen-less. Dan told me we need to set up a temporary kitchen in the basement because in two to three weeks, he’ll be tearing the old one apart. The whole thing just overwhelms me, so…like I do with anything that overwhelms me, I procrastinate and ignore it until I no longer can (hence the Sunday afternoon spent on the couch watching football).  I’ll deal with it later.

DSCF0545

2. My point-and-shoot camera. I’m so spoiled by my Nikon 5100 that anything I take with my compact, easily-carried Fuji waterproof camera, like this photo from our Saturday run, is just disappointing. Got a little camera you love? I’m looking for suggestions for a GOOD point-and-shoot to keep in my purse, carry on runs, etc.

images

3. Furor over Richard Sherman. You guys, I get it. The Seattle Seahawks receiver sounded like an a#$ in his post-game interview in which he appeared to have frightened the sidelines reporter and called out the 49er defensive player who was covering him.  I saw the interview after the game and thought…Wow, that guy is something else.

But, you know what? He is a football player and he had just come off the field in a game that meant everything to his team. That sort of…um….confidence is sort of vital to football, no? I’ll bet you that nearly every guy on that field thinks he’s the best at what he does and nearly every one of them feels they don’t get the “props” they deserve. They channel those feelings and use them as “tools” to psyche themselves up.

Turns out Sherman actually has a pretty interesting back story.

“Sherman graduated from one of the worst school districts in the United States. You could say Sherman avoided a horrifying fate. But to say he “got lucky” or “escaped” would be foolhardy. He didn’t “just graduate,” either. He finished with a 4.2 GPA, second in his class, and went on to Stanford University, one of the most prestigious places to get an education in the entire world. He busted out in a rocket ship.” (Continue reading)

All that said, I’m still rooting for the Broncos because Peyton is the real deal. Read: Sports Illustrated Names Peyton Manning 2013 Sportsman of the Year.