Three things I’m loving this week:

books

1. The Great American Book Sale. Gotta love this annual event, a fundraiser for the Erie County Library, that’s held every summer in the Villa Maria gymnasium. Kelly and I stopped by one evening and filled a reusable shopping bag with young adult and kids books, including classics like Beverly Cleary’s “Socks,” for $6.  If only I could spend my summer days lying around reading,I’d have filled a bag for myself, too.  *sigh*

tiger eyes

2. “Tiger Eyes” by Judy Blume. When I learned that Judy Blume was helping adapt “Tiger Eyes” into a movie, I dug my well-aged, well-worn paperback copy out of the bin of books I saved from childhood/teen years and started rereading it again. It won’t take long.  The chapters are about three to five pages long.

watermelon

3. Watermelon. Even better? Seedless watermelon.  I’m usually against man tampering with seeds and growing hybrid variations of veggies and fruits, but I love me some seedless watermelon.

Three things I’m not loving this week:

rain

1. Rain, rain, rain, rain. Ugh. It’s annoying. Though, it has meant that I haven’t had to water all the baskets, potted plants, and veggies that I will totally hate myself for in late July when my spring planting fever wears off.

1000291_460385947384775_70157567_n

Me…Saturday at 5 p.m. after getting up at 5 a.m. to run 19.5 miles, then coming home & cleaning the house, doing laundry and gardening.

2. Marathon training. Trying to fit long runs into a busy life is nearly impossible and running for 3 hours kinda sucks…and it’s exhausting.

nectarines

3. Nectarines & peaches. Just threw away an entire bag of these again this week. Why do I bother buying them?  Is it ever possible to buy these fruit ripe?  And..if you can actually get them between hard-as-a-rock and mushy-as-baby-shit, is it possible to keep them that way for more than 89 seconds before they are nothing more than food for the fruit flies?